Your Account
close button

Use our patient tools for secure, convenient, 24/7 access. Learn more

This facility is a member of

Connect with us:

Quality Reports: Core Measures


Emory-Adventist Hospital knows that you have choices when deciding which hospital is best for you. We want you to be comfortable in making those choices, which is why we are committed to providing you with information about the treatment we provide that will help you make an informed decision.

What are Core Measures?

Emory-Adventist Hospital consistently delivers quality health care using proven therapies to treat our patients. In doing so, we adhere to a set of care processes called Core Measures, which were developed by The Joint Commission, the nation's predominant standards-setting and accrediting body in health care, to improve the quality of health care by implementing a national, standardized performance measurement system. The Core Measures were derived largely from a set of quality indicators defined by the Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services (CMS). They have been shown to reduce the risk of complications, prevent recurrences and otherwise treat the majority of patients who come to a hospital for treatment of a condition or illness. Core Measures help hospitals improve the quality of patient care by focusing on the actual results of care.

Comparing Performance

Hospitals across the country, including Emory-Adventist Hospital, are measured and compared by The Joint Commission against all other accredited institutions on their performance in these Core Measures. You will note there is a time lag of several months between when data is reported from hospitals and when it is posted for the public to review. This is because Emory-Adventist Hospital, like other hospitals, has to wait for state and national statistics to be compiled before it can post its quality data for a given period. Emory-Adventist Hospital posts its updated information whenever the updated state and national data are posted. This way, consumers can compare Emory-Adventist Hospital, and national data from the same time period.

What does each of the Core Measures stand for?

There are 12 Core Measures altogether, in 4 categories (acute myocardial infarction, community-acquired pneumonia, congestive heart failure, and surgical care improvement project). Under each category, key actions are listed that represent the most widely accepted, research-based care process for appropriate care in that category.

It is important to note that these care recommendations are subject to the professional medical advice of each patient's physician and the particular health conditions of each patient. If a physician determines that a patient is not an appropriate candidate for a particular care process, the patient will not be included in the data. A good example is aspirin. Some patients are allergic to aspirin; for others, taking aspirin will make another medical problem worse. In these cases, the patient's physician may determine that aspirin should not be administered or prescribed for the patient. Therefore, the patients will not be included in the data.

Much of this data is posted on other Web sites, such as Hospital Compare. You may notice some differences in the data posted here as compared to other Websites, as we provide our most current results. Often, other Websites such as Healthgrades and Hospital Compare use data from a year ago, rather than the last several months’ performance. Click on the service title to view our measures below.

General Overview

Cardiac Services
Pulmonary Services Surgical Services Patient Experience & Satisfaction